Farewell Catalonia

Farewell Catalonia

August 7th 2012

Released on Paper + Plastick

Available on:


  1. Pushing Daisies
  2. Departures
  3. American Amnesia
  4. Points Between
  5. This Is What We Get
  6. Cold Blues
  7. Flesh and Bone
  8. Get A Room
  9. Indivisible
  10. When I Pray
  11. Shine
  12. Under The Hours

Farewell Catalonia is Russ Rankin’s first solo record, but you probably know him from being the frontman of Good Riddance or one of his other awesome bands. This isn’t really what you’d expect from a punk guy gone solo, but it’s definitely awesome.

“Russ Rankin is undoubtedly one of the most influential front men from the last 20 years of punk music. Rankin made a name for himself by being perhaps the most straight arrow frontman, extolling the values of being straight edge, vegan and even avoiding promiscuity. What always made Rankin unique is his ability to take these traditionally nerdy or unmasculine topics and not only make them interesting but make them dangerous …. With 2012’s Farewell Catalonia, Rankin attempts to bring his trademark rasp and songwriting to a more nuanced and subtle side of music, ditching throat tearing shouts for melodies and a barrage of hardcore for a far more traditional rock sound.” – Punknews.org


Site created by Sandal Studios